For RNs comparing NP and graduate nursing options
Bellarmine MSN Programs: Tracks, Cost and Format
Compare Bellarmine's five online MSN tracks: credits, listed tuition, clinical requirements, format and admission, with the sources that differ.
Bellarmine University offers a Master of Science in Nursing with five tracks. Three prepare nurse practitioners: Family (FNP), Adult Gerontology Acute Care (AG-ACNP), and Psychiatric Mental Health (PMHNP). Two prepare nurses for leadership or teaching: Nursing Administration and Nursing Education. The program is online, with some in-person requirements that differ by track. The school’s published tuition runs from $835 to $920 per credit, depending on the course type.
This page compares the five tracks on the same facts, in the same order: purpose, credits, listed tuition, clinical requirements, format and admission. It does not rank the tracks or recommend one.
Five Tracks at a Glance
| Track | Role | Credits | Listed tuition | Clinical requirement | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Family Nurse Practitioner | NP | 43 (program page) | $37,280 | Practicum; FAQ lists 720 total clinical hours | Online, one required on-campus visit |
| Adult Gerontology Acute Care NP | NP | 43 (catalog) or 45 (program page) | $38,200 | 810 practicum hours (curriculum map) | Primarily online, one required on-campus visit |
| Psychiatric Mental Health NP | NP | 47 (catalog) | $40,040 | 810 practicum hours (catalog) | Remote and asynchronous, with an in-person intensive between years |
| Nursing Administration | Leadership | 34 to 36 (tuition page) | $28,390 to $30,060 | Practica in nursing administration settings | Fully online |
| Nursing Education | Teaching | 34 to 36 (tuition page) | $28,390 to $30,060 | Practica in nursing education settings | Fully online |
Nurse Practitioner Tracks
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
- Purpose: primary, preventive and acute care for people of all ages. The catalog says graduates may apply for certification through ANCC or AANP.
- Credits: 43, per the program page. The tuition table lists 16 standard and 26 specialty credits.
- Listed tuition: $37,280 total, using the tuition table.
- Clinical: the program’s FAQ lists 720 total clinical hours. The FAQ does not say which track that figure covers.
- Format: online, with one required on-campus visit.
- Notes: the catalog says enrollment is limited, and meeting the minimum requirements may not assure admission. An interview with graduate faculty may be required. The school also offers a post-master’s (DNP) option. Program page: planned.
Adult Gerontology Acute Care NP (AG-ACNP)
- Purpose: adults and older adults with acute, critical and complex chronic conditions.
- Credits: 43 in the catalog; 45 on the program page and curriculum map.
- Listed tuition: $38,200 total at the published rates, with 16 standard and 27 specialty credits.
- Clinical: 810 practicum hours on the curriculum map.
- Format: primarily online, with one required on-campus visit.
- Notes: the school also lists a post-master’s certificate for nurses who already hold an MSN. Read the full AG-ACNP program page.
Psychiatric Mental Health NP (PMHNP)
- Purpose: psychiatric evaluation, medication management and psychotherapy in mental health settings.
- Credits: 47, per the catalog and program page. The tuition table lists 16 standard and 29 specialty credits.
- Listed tuition: $40,040 total, using the tuition table.
- Clinical: 810 practicum hours, per the catalog.
- Format: the catalog describes a 24-month program with remote, asynchronous learning and an in-person intensive between the two years.
- Notes: the school also lists a post-master’s certificate. Program page: planned.
Leadership and Education Tracks
Nursing Administration
- Purpose: management roles in health care, with coursework in finance, human resources and organizational leadership.
- Credits: 34 to 36, per the tuition table.
- Listed tuition: $28,390 to $30,060 total, at $835 per credit.
- Clinical: practica must be completed in nursing administration settings. The catalog does not state an hour total.
- Format: fully online, with students typically taking two courses per semester.
- Notes: this track does not prepare nurse practitioners. Program page: planned.
Nursing Education
- Purpose: beginning nurse educator roles, such as staff development, health education and teaching nursing students.
- Credits: 34 to 36, per the tuition table.
- Listed tuition: $28,390 to $30,060 total, at $835 per credit.
- Clinical: practica must be completed in nursing education settings. The catalog does not state an hour total.
- Format: fully online, with optional class meetings recorded for later viewing.
- Notes: this track does not prepare nurse practitioners. Program page: planned.
Admission for All Tracks
The catalog lists the same core admission criteria for every MSN track:
- A BSN from a nursing program accredited by CCNE or ACEN.
- Official transcripts from all previous undergraduate and graduate coursework.
- A minimum GPA of 3.0.
- GRE scores, if the program requests them. The program’s FAQ says the GRE is not required.
- English proficiency for applicants who need it.
- Two professional references on the school’s form.
- A goal statement and a resume.
- Proof of an active, unrestricted nursing license in Kentucky or a compact state.
The FNP track adds an interview and limited enrollment. The program’s FAQ also says a background check and drug screening are required, and that one year of bedside RN experience is required, which can be completed during the first year.
What Each Track Costs
The school’s tuition page lists NP tracks with a specialty rate of $920 per credit, and leadership and education tracks at $835 per credit. Each total is the per-credit rate multiplied by the credits in each course type.
| Track | Standard credits at $835 | Specialty credits | Listed total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Family Nurse Practitioner | 16 | 26 at $920 | $37,280 |
| Adult Gerontology Acute Care NP | 16 | 27 at $920 | $38,200 |
| Psychiatric Mental Health NP | 16 | 29 at $920 | $40,040 |
| Nursing Administration | 34 to 36 at $835 | not listed | $28,390 to $30,060 |
| Nursing Education | 34 to 36 at $835 | not listed | $28,390 to $30,060 |
The tuition page says all prices are subject to change and does not state the academic year the rates apply to. It also lists alumni and partnership discounts of 20 percent for master’s programs, and says many employers offer tuition reimbursement. It does not list separate fees for these tracks. Ask whether technology, clinical or program fees apply.
Post-Master’s Options
If you already hold an MSN, the tuition page lists post-master’s certificates for three NP tracks:
- Family NP: 27 credits, $22,545.
- AG-ACNP: 28 credits, $23,380. The certificate page describes 20 credit hours, so confirm the count.
- PMHNP: 21 credits, $17,535.
Questions to Ask Before You Choose a Track
- Which credit total applies to my start term, and what is the cost for that total?
- How many clinical hours does my track require, and how is placement arranged in my state?
- Does my track include an in-person requirement, and when does it fall?
- Is my track’s cost for the current academic year, and do separate fees apply?
- If I already hold an MSN, which option fits my goals and credit count?
Before you apply to any track, work through this list:
- Save each track’s program page and the tuition page with today’s date.
- Confirm the credit total and clinical hours in writing.
- Ask about fees, placement and any in-person requirement.
- Check the admission deadline and the license requirement for your state.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the MSN program accredited?
The school’s program page says its nursing programs, including the MSN, are accredited by CCNE. The university is accredited by SACSCOC. Check the accreditor’s directory before you apply.
Does this page recommend a track?
No. It compares the same facts for each track. Your choice depends on your role, your state, your clinical goals and your budget.
Are all five tracks nurse practitioner programs?
No. Family, AG-ACNP and PMHNP prepare nurse practitioners. Nursing Administration and Nursing Education prepare nurses for leadership or teaching roles.
Key Takeaway
Sources & further reading
- Bellarmine University: Master of Science in Nursing (program overview, AG-ACNP track details and FAQ)
- Bellarmine University: Graduate Tuition Rates
- Bellarmine University Catalog: Master of Science in Nursing: Family Nurse Practitioner Track (general information and admission)
- Bellarmine University Catalog: Master of Science in Nursing: Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Track (general information and admission)
- Bellarmine University Catalog: Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Track: requirements and course list
- Bellarmine University, Donna and Allan Lansing School of Nursing and Clinical Sciences: MSN-Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner curriculum map (PDF)
- Bellarmine University Catalog: Master of Science in Nursing: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Track
- Bellarmine University Catalog: Master of Science in Nursing: Nursing Administration Track
- Bellarmine University Catalog: Master of Science in Nursing: Nursing Education Track
- Bellarmine University: Certificate, Adult Gerontology-Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (post-master's)
Official requirements can change. Verify details with the relevant school, certifier, or nursing board before acting.